The Eclipse Dog

August 21st, 2017. The day of the solar eclipse, visible across the entire contiguous United States – an event that hadn’t occurred since June 8th, 1918. A momentous day for me. Not because it was the very first and probably the only total solar eclipse I would ever observe in my entire lifetime, but because on this glorious day, I was finally going to meet and take home a special dog named Parto.

I, along with my family, commuted a 3-hour drive up to Vancouver, B.C. where I would pick up my special rescue dog at the Vancouver International Airport at approximately 6:32pm.

IMG_1094

First picture I took of Parto while still in her crate and before she stepped out onto Canadian soil.

After what felt like ages waiting at the arrivals pick-up, a creamy yellow crate carted by a tall man wheels into the waiting area, towards the exit. He parks the cart just before the doors and my dad goes to thank him while my mother and I greet the passengers who kindly volunteered to accompany Parto on her flight.

Enthusiastic exchanges were made, hugs and kisses were given along with a box of chocolates for the charitable volunteers. We exchanged contact numbers and promised a reunion someday in the future. We said our goodbyes and head on our way back home, one pack member stronger.

It’s a funny thing to fall in love with a dog almost 7,000 miles across the ocean, in a country I’ve never been to, in a shelter I’ve never visited, cared for by angels I’ve never met.

After 6 months of patient, but anxious waiting, I finally have my special girl home.

Thank you Vafa Animal Shelter.

IMG_1238

My dad keeping a tight lead on her. While she was still recovering from sedatives, she was still very eager to learn about her surroundings.

IMG_1629

Parto while still in Iran, getting ready to board her flight at Tehran-IKIA.

IMG_1628

The beautiful angels who volunteered to bring Parto home! I am the one with the stupid smile on my face (bottom right and far right on the top left as well).

 

Leave a Reply

